New Year

I don’t usually make new year resolutions but last year, in this blog, I made a resolution to blog faster and more often. I failed completely. And in public, no less. Oh well. I could beat myself up about it or I could do what we should all do when we fail at something…try and do better the next time.

So here I am at the end of the first “work-week” of the year and honestly, it’s been going fine. Last year I co-created a new horror/comedy web-series called 20 SECONDS TO LIVE.

20STL logo web

It’s taken a lot longer than we’d anticipated for a couple reasons: we had no money but we were adamant that the series look fantastic. It’s been said before: fast, cheap, good…pick two. We picked cheap and good. But coordinating schedules with talented people generous enough to donate their time meant we pushed shoots often. By the end of the summer, we had three in the can and wanted to shoot two more before the end of the year and call that our first season. Then I got married, which took me off the grid for nearly a month. Then the holidays came and…it was looking like we’d never shoot them.

But someone (not me) suggested we start the new year on fire, shooting two episodes back to back on the first weekend of January. I thought we were crazy to consider it…but we did it! We worked with a fantastic crew and a stunning gang of actors. I can’t wait to share specifics but honestly, we’re focused on getting everything ready to unleash the series as soon as we can. I have to admit, it feels good to hit the ground running, as opposed to easing into the new year.

In addition to the web-series, there are a couple of TV opportunities I’m waiting to hear about and I’m starting work on a new feature screenplay. All that and I’m going to blog more! I’m not calling it a resolution. I’m just saying it out loud. In public. Let’s see how it goes this time.

5 thoughts on “New Year

Leave a Reply

